Preface

I am a former dancer with The New York City Ballet. I’m now a free-lance choreographer and teacher as well as a part-time professor with the Dance Department at Goucher College.
One of the perks of being in the dance world is traveling all over the world. I have been to South America, Russia, all most every country in Europe and a long trip to Czech Republic. I was one of those Americans trapped abroad when 9/11 hit. But, none of these travel experiences had prepared me for the 20 hours that that it takes to get from Philadelphia to Fukuoka, Japan.
My entire family is in the Dance field. My brother, my sister and my mother have traveled to, performed or lived in Japan. I’m the only one not to have visited Japan. So, when my former student, Yuko Nakamura invited me to come teach Master Classes at her new school in Fukuoka, I jumped at the opportunity. I had no idea where in Japan I was going or how long it actually took to get there. But, hey I’m the same guy who took a 3-month invitation down to South America and stayed for 3 years.

Leave a Reply

