Princeton University Ballet- On the Road again

Princeton University Ballet

For the last couple of months I have been making weekend trips to Princeton University to create a new Three Movement Ballet for the Princeton University Ballet (See information Below). The music is Dvorak’s “Serenade for Strings” and the ballet is simply called “Strings”.
As travel goes it a short trip from my home in Philly to Princeton, NJ. Princeton New Jersey is a lovely town that is pretty much there to support the University. With great restaurants and pubs it would be a great place to live.
I had accepted the commission to create this work from the Artistic Director, Alexis Branagan probably more out of curiosity than for any other reason. I was quite surprised by what I found there. The dancers were talented, hard working, in good physical shape and this goes without saying, smart. (Hello Princeton University) Inspired by my old boss, George Balanchine my intention was to simply create a plot-less ballet that explored the beautiful Dvorak score. I had not done this type of ballet in a number of years and was very pleased with the out come. I finished the ballet that night in a very short amount of time. I think the drive took longer. The 14 dancers looked beautiful and I look forward to seeing it performed in April.
From the website of Princeton University Ballet- “Our talented dancers have performed with numerous professional ballet companies across the country and have trained with ABT, SAB, Miami City Ballet, Washington Ballet, Alvin Ailey, Boston Ballet, Kirov Academy, American Repertory Ballet, New Haven Ballet, New Jersey Ballet, Chicago Ballet, and the Juilliard School, to name a few.” (Visit our bios at http://www.princeton.edu/~puballet/company.html)
Dance in America has taken many roads and with the economy still not yet in recovery. Many talented pre-professional students have fled the professional scene and headed to universities. It will be interesting to see what out come this has on our profession 10 years done the road. Lets take young people who work as hard as dancers and give them an education. Then turn them loose on our society. “Nuff Said!”
Next, I’m off to Long Island, NY to finish work on a Gala I’m creating there for Long Island Ballet Theatre. It should be a lot of fun.
For my reader in Las Vegas, please catch the premiere of my new ballet “Far Rockaway” at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas this weekend. Let me know your impressions?
My best
The Traveling Ballet Master

Leave a Reply

