I knew this would work- The Corps de Ballet for the The Myth and the Madness of Edgar Allan Poe.

I knew this would work- The Corps de Ballet for the The Myth and the Madness of Edgar Allan Poe.

For the last year I have been working as a part time professor for the Dance Department at Goucher College. Goucher is located in Towsend, just outside of Baltimore. It has a wonderful Dance Department headed up by Elizabeth Ahearn.

Last season, in an unusual set of commissions for me I did works at UNLV and Princeton. I was happily surprised by the amount of talent that currently exists in university dance departments.

In the current economic situation of the United States, more and more talented dance students are opting for a college degree. This has always been the norm for the modern dance world but now it is a ballet reality. It will be interesting to see how this affects our art form 10 years down the road.
I joined ABT as an apprentice at 16yrs old. After a year and a half, I went to The School of American Ballet and joined New York City Ballet six months later.
College was never a consideration. In fact for female ballet dancers it was usually a death sentence. This has changed.

All that information led me to an idea.
My ballet, The Myth and the Madness of Edgar Allan Poe would be an excellent ballet for collaboration with a University Dance Program.
The Ballet has historic, literary and dance opportunities. The corps de ballet could be danced by these new and talented collegiate dancers, all I would need to do is supply the professional Principle Dancers.

With all that in mind, I approached Elizabeth Ahearn (Chair of the Goucher Dance Department) about the possibility of doing The Myth and the Madness of Edgar Allan Poe as a co production with the college.

By the way did I mention that the Baltimore area is a bastion for all things Edgar Allan Poe and that the Poe Historic Society is in Baltimore?

Oh yes, did I mention that the father of one of the Goucher professors founded the Poe Historic Society.

And to make things even better the Poe Historic Society Director, Jeff Savoye is the cousin of one of my friends and NYCB alumni, Sean Savoye?
Yeah, things do work out sometimes.

So, I had audition for the Corps de ballet and I’m pleased to announce that the following Goucher students will be joining the production.
Maya Felten, Gretchen Funk, Emily Gnatt, Melanie Hedal, Eve Holmes, Alexandra Keever, Sophie Kurek, Lydia Muhrer, Lizzy Purcell, Megan Simon
Carey McGuire, Courtney Colarik, Natalia Velarde.

The students are very talented and will help to make the ballet what I had always envisioned it to be.

My best
The Traveling Ballet Master

Leave a Reply

