Not traveling so far this week. But needed to make a decision.

Not traveling so far this week. But needed to make a decision.

So, following the success of the “The Myth and The Madness of Edgar Allan Poe”. I realized that I needed to make a decision.

What started, as a series of projects was quickly becoming a Ballet Company? We would be rehearsing and performing over the next 10 months in cities around the USA but would be doing nothing in our Home base of Philadelphia.

I was fortunate that I had a meeting with Lois Welk, Executive Director of Dance USA (Philadelphia) in the week following our performance and she had suggested to me that maybe BalletFleming should do a performance in Philadelphia in the early part of 2011.

I was concerned that we were still in the process of putting our Non-Profit together and how could we possibly do this? She suggested this wonderful organization called “Fractured Atlas” that has become the most successful service organization for Artistic endeavors in the United States. They have done for The Arts in America, what Face Book has done for Social networking. Lois also suggested that we contact the Landmark Theatre in the “Old City” section of Philadelphia called” The Painted Bride”. (I will write more about The Painted Bride in future installments.)

So, I left the Dance USA office thinking that I should make a decision about what to do this season. BalletFleming would be working from September 2010 thru May 2011 with no presence in Philadelphia.

Sitting at the Star Bucks on the corner of Broad and Pine, (with an Ice Coffee in hand) I decided it was time to take the leap and present BalletFleming in Philadelphia. I called the “Painted Bride” from the Coffee House and reserved a date for Feb. 20th a Sunday. I then called Margaret Faust, my friend and driving force in helping to make BalletFleming happen and told her of my decision.
We would present ourselves to Philadelphia in a program called “TAPAS”.
Like a new restaurant, we would give the audience a tasting of what we hope to present in the future and allow them to sample our fare. I would MC the program and it would be our introduction to Philly.

More to Come about all this
My Best
The Traveling Ballet Master

2 Responses to Not traveling so far this week. But needed to make a decision.

  1. Wally Harper says:

    Good for you. Wish you only success. Just remember what happened years ago in Orlando when Southern Ballet got started and where it has come today.

Leave a Reply

