YOU TUBE

YOU TUBE

Hi All

Well I guess we have finally arrived. BalletFleming now has it’s own YOU TUBE Channel.  Please check it out at www.youtube.com. BalletFleming.

I’m still trying to wrap my head around the YOU TUBE explosion.  I feel unprepared in many ways for all of this.

I should explain, I toil in the evenings researching, preparing, listening to music, pacing as I prepare for new ballets. I never do steps ahead of time, I just prepare with the music and my mind. For The Who’s TOMMY, I built cabinets in my workshop listening to the music until I knew every inch of the score including Keith Moon’s amazing drum licks.  For The Myth and The Madness of Edgar Allan Poe, I read all his works, biographies about him, tracked him thru the Internet. I found music written in tribute to him from rock musicians. Communicated with scholars and visited his houses in various cities. This process for creating works both big and small has been going on with me for quite awhile. I thought I had it all figured out.

Now along comes YOU TUBE and I now have to add this media outlet to my thought process. A couple of years ago somebody put a little bit of my TOMMY Ballet up on YOU TUBE.  As my assistant for this (and wonderful dancer with BalletFleming) Jane Koorts was putting our channel together. She commented, “Hey Chris, you know TOMMY has already had 15,000 views.”  So, with little effort the Ballet  (And just a segment) has been viewed almost as many times as it has been seen LIVE. That is enough to make one go insane.

So, I must now add YOU TUBE to my creative process.  I’ll let you know how it goes.

MY BEST- THE TRAVELING BALLET MASTER

Leave a Reply

