Moving On

Hi all

Finishing up the last of three Nutcrackers this weekend. Sometimes I think I would rather be doing anything else at this time of year. If you have been doing it as long as I have you almost become numb.

But, the money is good and I use the dancers from my Company as the Guest Artists, which gives them more income and additional chances to perform. So, in some ways Nutcracker is not the worst thing on the planet. It just feels that way sometimes.

Immediately after Christmas we begin work on Gaspar (The Pirate Ballet) and a Reparatory Program that will follow Gaspar down in Tampa, Florida at a University Residency we are doing at Hillsborough Community College.

Very excited to get back to work.

The Reparatory Program will include an excerpt from a new ballet that I have not yet completed the libretto on yet. But will be based on the Life and Work of Salvador Dali. St. Petersburg, Florida has an amazing Salvador Dali Museum and the people there are very interested in something for spring 2013. Dali’s work is brilliant and his life was very complex so I’m just presenting a sketch as an overture of more to come.

I have traveled this road before creating full evening works on the life of Jean Claude Gaugy (Who was discovered by Dali). In the Czech Republic I created a work on the life of Anton Dvorak, to re-open the Opera House that bears his name. And more recently on that troubled but talented American Icon with The Myth and The Madness of Edgar Allan Poe.

Maybe if the Dali Ballet works out Leroy Neiman (He and his wife Janet are supporters of my work) will let me do a ballet about his life and work. I think Leroy is a very important part of the American Art Scene.

I hope you have enjoyed all the Guest Bloggers that I have had of late? I think it is important to hear from all parts of the ballet world.

Also to keep generating excitement about my new Company we have been doing small studio showings every month to help with building an audience. If you are in the Philadelphia area and would like to join us on December 29th . Please visit our website at www.balletfleming.org

Our next big production in Philadelphia will be The Myth and the Madness of Edgar Allan Poe. Which is slated for March 9th and 10th. It will be our first 3 Performance series and will involve a bigger theatre and the critics here are waiting for my next move. So, I figured something light and fluffy like Edgar Allan Poe should do it

Hope you all are enjoying a great holiday season!
My Best
The Traveling Ballet Master/Christopher Fleming

 

9 Responses to Moving On

  1. tampa movers says:

    Hello, I check your blog on a regular basis. Your story-telling style is awesome, keep it up!

  2. If you set out to make me think today; mission accomplished! I really like your writing style and how you express your ideas. Thank you. http://www.samsung1080phdtv.net/

  3. Normally I don’t read post on blogs, but I would like to say that this write-up very compelled me to check out and do it! Your writing style has been surprised me. Thanks, very nice post.

  4. Fitness tips says:

    Thank you for your thoughtful present of having written this article. The message seems to be given to me specifically. Our son also had a lot to learn from this – though he was the individual that found your site first. Most of us can’t imagine a more superb present than a gift to encourage that you do more.

  5. I appreciate your post, it is interesting and compelling. I stumbled upon my way here through Google, I’ll come back another time 🙂

  6. Wife Bucket says:

    Wow! Finally I got a weblog from where I be able to in fact obtain useful information regarding my study and knowledge.

  7. This web site gives nice featured YouTube videos; I always download the dance competition show video clips from this website.

  8. Hey there there administrator, I just required to firmly place a short observation to firmly mention that I cherished your specific piece of writing. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

