Brandon Patrick Guest Blogger

Hi All
We were in residence this week at Hills Borough Community College in Tampa. One of the dance students, Brandon Patrick was selected to be a guest Blogger for the week. This is his post…
From Brandon Patrick
Ballet Fleming did a residency at Hillsborough Community College (HCC) The week of January 30th, 2011.  Ballet Fleming not only performed February 2-4 but taught class as well as gave us an hour seminar. I must say I didn’t know what to expect. I had seen many modern companies but never any contemporary ballet companies.
I unfortunately had to miss the first two classes that Christopher Fleming taught, but I watched some of the 2nd class and was EXTREMELY intimidated. The dancers of his company were some amazing, light on their feet, and moving so fast. I was indeed freaked out. May 2011 is when I took my first dance class, and though I’ve worked REALLY hard to look like I know what I’m doing, I just knew in my head that I would stumble through the whole class. But I tried it nonetheless. The class was definitely different from what I’m used to. Christopher Fleming almost mumbles through the combinations, the barre portion of class is much shorter than I’m used to, and all of the center combinations travel. Those things didn’t get in the way of me having fun and loving dance even more. I was so inspired and became even more driven to learn and take class. The fast pace made me eager and I was very nervous the whole time but I was not discouraged at all, which I think is good.
The seminar was on February 3rd at 2:30pm in our studio after our dance ensemble auditions. I really liked that aspect of it immensely. All the dancers of the Ballet Fleming got together and talked to the dance students about their dance journey and how they met Christopher Fleming.  Though all of the dancers had different journeys, the underlying theme of all the stories was to do whats best for you and your journey. I also feel like all of them did and do what they have to do and work where they have to work to keep their dream alive and do what they love to do. Dance. I admire that and look up to that.
I went to the second night of the Ballet Fleming Show at the Mainstage Theater at the HCC Ybor Campus. It was the first contemporary ballet performance I had ever seen and I must say that I fell in love. The whole show was high energy and A LOT different from the ballet I was used to seeing. The whole show was great but there were indeed a few standouts for me. I think my personal favorite was the “Blackbird” Portion of the first piece “Long Train Running”. I loved the rocking motif and the clapping motif. I thought the rendition of the song was beautiful and that the dance captured the wispy and graceful essence of the music. I love the Dali piece (but honestly I loved anything with Alex Crozier in it, I think he’s amazing). The portion that had Alex sitting in the chair in the corner of the stage and had Nick, Holly, and Jane dancing was very innovative I thought. I have never seen anything like it. The partnering was amazing and I would love to do something like that one day.
All in all, I feel like this residency was very beneficial to me. I learned a lot about dance as well as myself, I got to see an amazing show, take an amazing class, and pick the brains of some amazing dancers. What more can I ask for?
If you can, please credit the photo to “The 5th Eye Photography” (Hans’ Photography Company Thing)
Thanks for the Opportunity!!!!!!!!

 

3 Responses to Brandon Patrick Guest Blogger

  1. I just want to tell you that I’m very new to blogs and truly enjoyed this web page. Most likely I’m going to bookmark your blog . You amazingly come with really good articles. Many thanks for sharing your blog site.

  2. I just want to mention I am all new to blogging and site-building and certainly savored your web blog. More than likely I’m likely to bookmark your site . You amazingly come with exceptional article content. Thanks

  3. I just want to tell you that I am just beginner to blogging and seriously enjoyed this web-site. More than likely I’m going to bookmark your blog . You absolutely come with fabulous posts. Bless you

Leave a Reply

