Great Performance of Playball!

Great Performance of Playball! this weekend by the Charleston Ballet.

Please enjoy Charleston Ballet Dancer and newest Guest Blogger Lauren Reasor’s observations below.

 

Hello everyone! This is Lauren, this past week’s female pitcher in the Charleston Ballet’s production of Mr. Fleming’s Play Ball! This has to have been one of my favorite ballets that we have danced because it’s filled with so much comedy and all kinds of allusions to a real baseball game, as well as spectacular choreography. I watched it for the first time about four years ago and loved it. I never would have thought that I would be dancing it so soon!

The role of the female pitcher in Play Ball! was very different from others that I have danced because it required quite a bit of acting and, of course, the coordination to throw and catch a baseball. I was fortunate enough to be coached by an original cast member of the ballet, Robert Royce, who was patient with me as I hurled softballs this way and that across our studio. Eventually, my throwing was no longer a safety hazard to everyone in my general area! Rob also helped me to set aside the prim and proper classical ballet persona and to act like a real, rough and rowdy baseball player. All the practicing paid off when it came time for the show. It was a blast, especially when I got to see my grandmother’s face afterwards, in reaction to the sassy and flirtatious character that I portrayed!

It has been an exhilarating and educational experience, dancing in Chris’s ballets this season. In the fall we danced a suite of Janis and Joe, with several male guest dancers from Ballet Fleming, and it was my first-ever partnering experience. Oh boy, was I out of my comfort zone! I truly enjoyed myself though, and with all the advice from Chris and guest dancers and more experienced girls from the Charleston Ballet, I felt well prepared by opening night. I am a senior in high school this year, and I plan to continue my training and pursue a career in ballet, so I am not sure when I will be able to perform again in a season back home. While I am really going to miss dancing here in Charleston, I am very much looking forward to the adventures that await me, and I could not have asked for a better season as I prepare to pursue my dream.

Leave a Reply

