Conversations with Alice Part 1

As promised. Balletfleming Company Ballerina, Adrianna de Svestich will be my guest blogger for the next few weeks. Adrianna will be performing the role of Alice in our upcoming performances of “Alice in Wonderland”.
Alice_in_Tree
Meet Adrianna de Svastich, BalletFleming company member, who will be playing Alice in the upcoming production of ‘Alice in Wonderland’. She will be answering all of your questions about ‘Alice in Wonderland’ the ballet, her dancing experiences, pointe shoes, and more.
Originally from Tuxedo Park, New York, Adrianna de Svastich began her ballet training under Leonid Kozlov in Ramsey, New Jersey. She was then accepted to The School of American Ballet in New York City. She also attended various summer programs with American Ballet Theatre, Miami City Ballet, and The Royal Ballet School in London. During her final year at the school, she performed with the New York City Ballet in Balanchine’s Serenade and Chopiniana, and in Susan Stroman’s Double Feature. Ms. de Svastich was a member of Pennsylvania Ballet II for two years before becoming an Apprentice in August 2007. She was promoted to the Corps de Ballet in 2009, and continued to perform with PA Ballet through 2011.
Her performing experience with Pennsylvania Ballet includes George Balanchine’s The Nutcracker, Ballo Della Regina, The Four Temperaments, Square Dance, Theme and Variations, Concerto Barocco and Serenade; Jerome Robbins’ The Concert; Christopher Wheeldon’s Swan Lake and Carnival of the Animals; John Cranko’s Romeo and Juliet; Matthew Neenan’s Carmina Burana; Roland Petit’s Carmen, Twyla Tharp’s Push Comes To Shove; Ben Stevenson’s Dracula; Frederick Ashton’s La Fille Mal Gardee and Giselle, The Sleeping Beauty, and Cinderella.
This is Adrianna’s second season with BalletFleming.

 

Were you excited to be playing the lead in Alice in Wonderland for BalletFleming?
When Chris told me I was going to be playing Alice, I was very excited. The book and the Disney movie were an integral part of my childhood, so I’m really looking forward to portraying an endearing childhood character through ballet.
How long have you danced with Ballet Fleming?
This is my second season at BalletFleming. I was previously with Pennsylvania Ballet for six seasons.
Have you danced leading roles with Ballet Fleming? If so, in which ballets?
One of my favorite roles has been Christine, the lead in Christopher Fleming’s ballet Gaspar. That was a challenge for me because it was my first lead in a full-length ballet. One of the hardest parts was mastering the traveling fouette turns during the second act coda. Chris’ choreography can be extremely difficult to master, so it was very fulfilling to make it through without too many problems!
Is it true you were trained at the same school as BalletFleming, Director Christopher Fleming?
Yes, we both attended the School of American Ballet in New York City. I lived in Northern New Jersey at the time, and commuted six days a week to attend classes. After my sophomore year of high school, I had to leave my regular high school to attend SAB full time, and received my diploma through a correspondence program. During my last year, I lived at the dorms, which made my days significantly easier.

Leave a Reply

