Conversations With Alice Part 2

Alice_in_TreeConversations with Alice- Part 2
Meet Adrianna de Svastich, BalletFleming company member, who will be playing Alice in the upcoming production of ‘Alice in Wonderland’. She will be answering all of your questions about ‘Alice in Wonderland’ the ballet, her dancing experiences, pointe shoes, and more.

1) What are your influences for portraying Alice in Ballet Fleming’s production of “Alice and Wonderland”?


I wanted my character to have authentic feel that the audience could relate to, so I decided to dye my hair blonde to emulate Alice from the Disney film. I’ve been blonde in the past, but haven’t been for several years so I was a little nervous.
2) Were you influenced by any of the movies?
Although my favorite is the Disney version, I do like how Mia Wasikowska portrayed Alice in the Tim Burton version. Although she is delicate and feminine, her character is also tough and resilient throughout the film.


3) What is your earliest childhood memory of Alice in Wonderland?
I used to love climbing and playing on the Alice in Wonderland statue in Central Park in Manhattan. It was big and bronze, and had a large mushroom that I used to love hiding under.


4) What is your favorite type of Pointe shoe and is that what you will be wearing for your performances of Alice?


I have been wearing the same pointe shoes for about 8 years; Freed Maltese Cross size 5 xx. I have high arches, so I need to jet glue my shoes a couple of times to make them harder before I even wear them. I am very particular about forming my pointe shoes to my feet before wearing them. Before a performance I like to have a couple pairs that I wear on rotation, and then I decide which ones feel best.

Adrianna Bio:
Originally from Tuxedo Park, New York, Adrianna de Svastich began her ballet training under Leonid Kozlov in Ramsey, New Jersey. She was then accepted to The School of American Ballet in New York City. She also attended various summer programs with American Ballet Theatre, Miami City Ballet, and The Royal Ballet School in London. During her final year at the school, she performed with the New York City Ballet in Balanchine’s Serenade and Chopiniana, and in Susan Stroman’s Double Feature. Ms. de Svastich was a member of Pennsylvania Ballet II for two years before becoming an Apprentice in August 2007. She was promoted to the Corps de Ballet in 2009, and continued to perform with PA Ballet through 2011.
Her performing experience with Pennsylvania Ballet includes George Balanchine’s The Nutcracker, Ballo Della Regina, The Four Temperaments, Square Dance, Theme and Variations, Concerto Barocco and Serenade; Jerome Robbins’ The Concert; Christopher Wheeldon’s Swan Lake and Carnival of the Animals; John Cranko’s Romeo and Juliet; Matthew Neenan’s Carmina Burana; Roland Petit’s Carmen, Twyla Tharp’s Push Comes To Shove; Ben Stevenson’s Dracula; Frederick Ashton’s La Fille Mal Gardee and Giselle, The Sleeping Beauty, and Cinderella.
This is Adrianna’s second season with BalletFleming.

Leave a Reply

